All dogs are required by Michigan State Law to be licensed and vaccinated for rabies. Failure to maintain proper licensing may result in additional fines and fees.
What is the fine for not having a dog license in MI?
Michigan penalizes the failure to obtain a dog license with a $100 fine, which is reasonable as far as these things go—and the potential of 90 days in jail, which makes no sense given the lightness of the maximum fine.
Do dogs have to be licensed in Michigan?
Michigan State Law requires that all dogs over four (4) months old be licensed. To obtain a dog license, you will need to provide proof of current rabies vaccination and proof of spaying/neutering (if applicable) at the time you purchase the license.
How much does it cost to get a dog license in Michigan?
A one year license must be purchased every year. A 2019 license would be effective June 2019 until June 2020.
|License Type||1 year||3 year|
|Delinquent fee (both types)||$50||$100|
Do I really need to license my dog?
It’s the Law
In most states, it’s mandatory that dog owners have their pets licensed. If you get caught without a license, which can and does happen, you will be hit with a hefty fine. Dogs must have a renewed license each year, which must be displayed on them at all times.
Can you shoot your own dog in Michigan?
Shooting a dog in and of itself is not necessarily against the law. … The law may regard animals as property, “like a toaster,” Halstead said, but veterinarians are not required to put down an animal just because the owner wants it done, though the law recognizes the owners right to make that decision.
How many dogs are you legally allowed to own in Michigan?
Except as provided in Section 6.04. 114, it is unlawful for any person to keep or harbor more than three dogs which are over the age of four months on any lot, premises, dwelling, building, structure, boat or living accommodation.
Can you bury a dog in your backyard in Michigan?
In Michigan, residents generally must dispose of dead pets/animals “not intended for human food” far more quickly (within 24 hours), but may legally bury animals at the less-backbreaking depth of (at least) 60.96 centimeters (2 feet) under the ground’s “natural surface.”
Is it illegal to walk a dog without a leash in Michigan?
Michigan provides the clearest example of a statewide leash requirement. Section 287.262 states, “It shall be unlawful for any person for any owner to allow any dog . . . to stray unless held properly in leash.” There are numerous exceptions in the law including working dogs, guard dogs, and hunting dogs.
Can you shoot a dog attacking your dog in Michigan?
Michigan’s dog law, in § 287.279, provides that any person may kill any dog that they see in the act of pursuing, worrying, or wounding any livestock or poultry or attacking persons, and there shall be no liability for such killing.
Can I buy a dog Licence online?
You can purchase an annual (€20) or lifetime (€140) licence for your dog at your local Post Office or you can buy one online at licences.ie . You must be over 16 years of age to purchase a dog licence. … If you own a kennel with multiple dogs, then you must buy a general dog licence from your local authority.
How often do dogs need rabies shots in Michigan?
Once the dog is fully boostered, the vaccine can be given once a year. A booster is also recommended if the pet is overdue for their yearly vaccine by many months. The vaccine is $15 at our clinic. Rabies: vaccinations are recommended for dogs ages 4 months and older.
How do I transfer my dog license?
– The ownership of a current dog license can be transferred to another owner for a small fee. The current owner on file, or executor of the current owner’s estate, must sign the transfer form. It is also advisable for the new owner to sign the form. Please contact your County Auditor’s office for the necessary form.
Is it illegal not to have a dog tag?
Absolutely. It is a legal requirement for dogs to wear a collar in public. … By law, when a dog is in a public place, it must wear a collar. This – or a tag attached to the collar – must also bear its owner’s name and address.
Is microchipping the same as licensing?
Both licensing and microchipping are easy to obtain and relatively affordable. Microchips usually cost a one-time fee of $45. … Licenses can be purchased by mail or at your local animal care center. Contact your local animal control agency to find out their microchip clinic schedule.
How much does it cost to microchip a dog?
A: The average cost to have a microchip implanted by a veterinarian is around $45, which is a one–time fee and often includes registration in a pet recovery database. If your pet was adopted from a shelter or purchased from a breeder, your pet may already have a microchip.